Two tone hair dilemma

So long story short, I’ve been bleaching my hair for about 8 years now and as you can imagine it’s not looking it’s best. I recently caught the quarantine hair bug and purchased a box dye to go for a more darker natural looking blonde.

This is where my problem began.

I did my research before hand and learnt that I should dye with a golden undertone, however, my natural hair is a dull, light mousy brown colour which always goes ginger when I box dye it and I wanted to blend my roots with the rest of my hair, so I ended up getting a dark ash blonde box dye instead figuring that should neutralise any unwanted copper tones from my natural hair colour, I was wrong.

My roots are now a dark ginger colour and my ends are a dull, greyish, unflattering blonde colour. my hair isn’t even that dark naturally so I just don’t understand why it does this, it’s so frustrating. I should also point out that it’s gone patchy over my hi-lights and there’s random spots of bleach coming through. Yep, it’s a mess.

Can anyone offer any advice? What should I do? I’ve thought about getting a semi permanent ash dye over my roots again and pray that it neutralises the copper tones but then I’m still stuck with ugly patchy ends. My salon isn’t open so that isn’t an option, I just don’t want to get it bleached again but I want dark blonde hair, is that impossible without bleach? I find ashy tones suit me a bit better, but it’s just too ashy. I’ll attach a photo of what I’m aiming for and a photo of what I’m dealing with, any advice would be great, thank you!

Have you tried a toner? There are several in shops like Asda and Morrison’s. It should tone the colour right down.
I use it on mine and it takes the yellow look out and it works n leaves your hair So soft n shiney and beautiful too.